Readercon, here I come!

The man from the motorbike shop came and looked at my bike. The amount he told me was a couple of hundred lower than what they said the other day on the phone, because of the damage caused when someone pushed it over one night last year. Still, what he told me will cover most of a flight to Boston and back, so that’s that sorted.

In case you haven’t heard of Readercon, here’s a little excerpt from their website:

About Readercon 22
Readercon is an annual conference or convention devoted to “imaginative literature” — literary science fiction, fantasy, horror, and the unclassifiable works often called “slipstream.”

A typical Readercon features over 150 writers, editors, publishers, and critics, attracting prominent figures from across the U.S., and from Canada, the U.K., and occasionally even Australia and Japan. They are joined by some 500 of their most passionate and articulate readers for a long weekend of intense conversation.

For more information, go to their website!

So, financially I am set for Readercon. Health-wise is another matter. I think I’m just going to go ahead and buy the flights (once I get the money in from the bike) and hope for the best. It will give me something to work towards and at least I will get them relatively cheap – I can only see prices going up between now and July.

Why am I so keen on going to Readercon? I could spout the names of the people they have guesting, or the awards and blah, blah, blah… In case you haven’t guessed, those aren’t any of my reasons.

My reason is that a whole swathe of writer peeps I know from Twitter are going to be there, some of whom are among those I most admire: Al Boudreau and LM Stull, to name just two. The backwoods of the Kentish countryside isn’t a bad place to live, but it’s terrible for meeting writers face to face. It’s actually pretty bad for meeting anyone face to face, but that’s a different story and not really relevant to this blog :)

Writing is, by necessity, a solitary occupation. For the most part we need peace and quiet to allow the imaginary lives in our heads the space to form on paper (or on the screen) – although I find cafes with a conveyor belt supply of tea and cake equally stimulating. This means we usually get our best work done when we’re not being constantly interrupted by, well, anything. Dogs, people, aliens from Pluto (they’ve had a long journey and would just kill for a cup of tea) – they all want something more valuable than your money. Your time. The thing you must guard most jealously in order to get your writing done.

I have the opposite problem but it stems from the same basic issue. The bulk of my current social interaction currently occurs when I’m either in the bakery buying doughnuts or in the greengrocers buying fruit. I certainly can’t discuss the latest intransigence of my main character with the baker or the greengrocer, nor how the next book’s main characters won’t stay out of my head long enough for me to sort out the current ones. But writers know what it’s like. They understand. And I’m desperately looking forward to the chance to bewail our fates and celebrate our successes with them, face to face over a beverage of an alcoholic nature.

Please don’t forget that voting continues through Saturday night on what happens after Part 1 of The Elemental Races!

This entry was posted in About Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Readercon, here I come!

  1. L.M. Stull says:

    This. Is. So. EXCITING! OMG I can’t wait to meet you! (and psst, thanks for the kind mention and link in your blog :)

  2. alboudreau says:

    Fantastic post, AM. So nice to be getting to know you between now and “the big event.” Your writing skills shine, btw. Your thoughts come across crisp, and fresh—much respect. Thank you very much for the sweet mention. I’m both humbled, and honored. Looking forward to giving you a huge hug this July.

  3. Sonia M. says:

    Sounds pretty durn exciting!

Leave a Reply

