Getting what you want – and why it can really suck

Before Christmas I often thought about how I really didn’t have enough time to write. Going to work felt like a waste of my time. I could have been at home writing with all that time! Not faffing about in some office. Sheesh.

What I needed was the time to write and the income so that I could write full-time. I thought, won’t it be awesome when I’m a several-times-published author and can afford to give up the day job and write full-time.

Then my back went out and suddenly, hey presto! I had all the time in the world, and sick pay as well. Suddenly I had the time and the money. Of course, I couldn’t do anything except write. Couldn’t work out. Couldn’t drive down to see a friend for Sunday lunch. Couldn’t go swimming. Couldn’t dance. Couldn’t do any freaking thing except write. Not quite what I had in mind.

The moral of the story, folks, is please for the love of God, be careful what you wish for. Or, if you’re going to wish for it, be VERY specific about exactly what it is that you want.

There is something called visualisation. I’m sure a number of you have already heard of it. It’s basically about turning your daydreams into reality. You pick up your daydream and you lose yourself in it. But you don’t just drift along in it, you really get down into the nitty gritty of what it is that you truly want. You focus on how achieving that goal makes you feel, how that 3pm coffee with the girls smells, how it feels to go swimming in the middle of the day. How it feels to pick up that lifetime achievers award for Romance novelists. How it sounds when you tell the interviewer, ‘yes, that’s right, a million copies in print’.

Yes, I know. But are these things really pipe dreams? Or could you make them happen? You see, I almost always get what I want, which isn’t necessarily what I need. Somehow I usually manage to turn it around into what I actually need, while still being more or less what I want. I won’t lie to you, it takes a lot of work.

My point is, if you are prepared to put in the work, why shouldn’t you allow yourself to dream? And if you’re going to dream, why not put a little more effort into it and see if you can’t make it real? Dreaming is free. It’s hard work that takes time. But hard work also earns you money, and in time success and recognition. The combination of hard work and dreaming will get you where you want to go. It’s not a quick fix, but then nothing really worth having ever just drops on your head by accident. If you earnt it, you get to keep it. Ask any one of those lottery winners who lost it all within five years. Did they earn it? No. See what I mean?

About Mhairi Simpson

Writer, dreamer. Magic, dragons, pink mice, cake. Come say hi!
This entry was posted in About Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Getting what you want – and why it can really suck

  1. Well written.
    Nice post.

    Stay Alive
    N

  2. Dreaming is free. It’s hard work that takes time. << That is quotable!

  3. alberta ross says:

    I used to bitch about how I wished I could retire and not have to do anything if I didn’t want to!! had accident – in plaster nearly a year – plenty of time to do what I wanted except of course was immoblized – couldn’t even hold a book in comfort!! as you say be careful what you wish for!

    I too believe in dreams – they have never been about ruling the world but I have managed to acheive all of them now as I age disgracefully – if you want – you can get

    get well soon

  4. Trisha says:

    I’ve found that when I go on holiday, I write less. Weird, huh? πŸ™‚

  5. Su says:

    Great post. I love the “please for the love of God”. Nice touch.

  6. Susan Fields says:

    I hope your back gets better soon! It seems like the more free time I have, the less writing I get done.

Leave a Reply

