The Friday 56 (Shiloh Walker)

I just found this on Shiloh Walker’s blog and decided I just had to share. Check it out and enter!

My Friday 56 is: “I think you’d have played along with them for a few days, maybe a week.”

About the Friday 56
•Grab the book nearest you. Right now
•Turn to page 56.
•Find the fifth sentence.
•Post that sentence (plus one or two others if you like) along with these instructions on your blog or (if you do not have your own blog) in the comments section of this blog. *please note… this isn’t a contest.*
•Post a link along with your post back to this blog.
•Don’t dig for your favorite book, the coolest, the most intellectual. Use the CLOSEST
Rules for the contest

•open across the globe
•one entry per household.
•do not post to twitter sweeps/sweepstakes sites, etc-if this happens I reserve the right to end the contest (and likely WILL)
•odds of winning depend on number of entries
•void where prohibited
•winner to be posted to blog and you must email me to claim the prize. you’ll have two weeks. if I don’t hear from you, the prize is forfeited.
•for the rest of the yadda, yadda yadda…read my disclaimer-FYI, ENTERING my contests means you’ve READ and agree to my rules.

About Mhairi Simpson

Writer, dreamer. Magic, dragons, pink mice, cake. Come say hi!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Friday 56 (Shiloh Walker)

  1. Liz says:

    Funnily enough, the closest book to me at the moment is Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

  2. Sonia M. says:

    Great idea! Closest book to me was Christopher Vogler’s The Writer’s Journey.

  3. Pingback: The Friday 56 (Shiloh Walker) (via Anne-Mhairi Simpson) « Doing the Write Thing

  4. Trisha says:

    I’m reading Pride & Prejudice, but it’s part of a Jane Austen collection, so the 5th sentence on page 56 is from Sense and Sensibility, and it’s this:

    “The young ladies arrived, their appearance was by no means ungenteel or unfashionable.”

    hehe

  5. alberta ross says:

    just as well i’m not entering – the nearest book didn’t have a 56 – spooky – so picked the 2nd nearest and here is the 5th sentence

    These include increases in rainfall rates and increased suscepuibility of sem-arid regions to drought. – ‘Storms of my grandchildren by James Hansen

    sorry but you did say the closest book and I’m surrounded by climate change books and (the one with no page 56 the war of the flea) war books for research for my sequel!!!!

  6. This sounds like fun! Too bad I’m late.

    Intriguing sentence!

Leave a Reply

