Operating rules for this blog

Yesterday I posted about paying for an editor and if it should depend on whether or not you intend to publish traditionally or independantly. The debate got a little heated and in my opinion some of the commenters crossed a line when it came to manners.

I have not disallowed any comments thus far. This blog has been up for all of twenty-eight days and I really really want everyone to comment and interact with each other here. When I post something it is my opinion, which I am entitled to. While reactions and comments are desired, I do expect these to be delivered with the same courtesy one would expect from a face to face conversation. Just because you can’t see me doesn’t mean I don’t exist. You aren’t talking to an inanimate object, there is a human being over here.

The internet is a wonderful tool for bringing people together so that they can interact socially, intellectually and emotionally. It is particularly helpful for writers as this is an often solitary pursuit and we all benefit from some social interaction.

However, there is no tone in text. We are writers and yet we often forget how easy it is for our words to be taken in a way not meant. Alternatively, we don’t care how they may be taken because we can’t see the person our words are aimed at.

For me, this is unacceptable. We are writers. As we all know, everything we send out onto the Internet is there forever. Let’s take this opportunity to practise our craft and say what we mean to say in a way that won’t offend anyone else. I also expect open-mindedness and flexibility. Feel free to disagree with me and each other, but be tactful when doing so and be open to what others are saying. I do this when responding to comments that I don’t agree with. Please make a similar effort when writing those comments in the first place.

I will never delete a comment which is phrased politely, even if I disagree with the opinion voiced therein. My aim is to build a community where everyone feels free to voice their opinions, even me. Please help me make this possible.

About Mhairi Simpson

Writer, dreamer. Magic, dragons, pink mice, cake. Come say hi!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Operating rules for this blog

  1. Mike says:

    In my opinion, all the people that commented negatively about spending money for an editor are just writing for profit which is a vicious circle. There is no guarantee ever that you’ll make money…if writers are setting out, “HEY I WANNA MAKE MONIES $$$$$ GIMME GIMME GIMME” then many are going to be sorely disappointed. Anyways… strong feelings always circle around a discussion of the almight dollar…it really should be a deity. So many pray at the altar of greed.

  2. Trisha says:

    Well said, and I agree people should be respectful of others’ opinions. There’s no need to get all riled up about what a person rightfully says on their own blog.

  3. For some reason the “to pay or not to pay for editing / proofreading” debate pushes buttons. I tweeted a couple of days ago that it bothers me when there is an excess of typos and errors in a printed work, and suggested that this happens more often in indie and self-pubbed books. The response has been venomous, and I feel as though suggested that one might wish to hire a proofreader is tantamount to suggesting that one pledge one’s eternal soul to Satan.

    Looks like your previous posts touched a similar nerve. Yikes.

    (p.s. I stopped by because I wanted to comment on “Never Give Up, Never Surrender” – are comments disabled for that post?)

    • Huh, they shouldn’t be. I’ll go and see if I can do something about that – thanks for letting me know 🙂

      Yeah, the debate was rather strong. I have to admit, I haven’t read many self-pubbed books, but I do think the gap is narrowing in terms of errors in the final product. I just finished a traditionally published book which had more than its fair share of errors. My favourite was “martial” instead of “marital” 😀 I believe a case could even be made for the possibility that less errors will now appear in self-pubbed works than traditionally pubbed ones, due to the added emotional/financial investment by the person in charge of the editing – the author.

  4. It should be interesting to see what happens! Maybe I didn’t scroll down far enough before on your “Never Give Up” post – I will hop over and leave a comment now!

Leave a Reply

