Went for a walk by the sea

I went for a walk with my grandmother.
We went down to the beach.
We walked along the shingle,
It crunched beneath your feet.
The sea was grey and powerful,
throwing itself at the shore.
I wished I could live here forever,
To feel that strength for evermore.
We didn’t talk along the way,
Everything was already said.
There wasn’t a lot left to say,
So we walked together instead.
When we got close to the end of the beach
I remembered some of her life.
Of being a scientist, sailor, teacher, warrior,
And a loyal wife.
The thrill of the new discovery,
The pain of another’s pain.
Colours and religions fighting for freedom
Abused by others for gain.
When we reached the end of the beach,
The sea rolled by on three sides.
The water came in, turned under, sucked out,
We were just past the time of high tide.
I opened my bag and said a few words,
She always loved the sea.
I hoped she would like this place we chose,
As the place where she’d always be.
The bag and the box are empty,
I cannot pick up the phone and call.
But if she isn’t around me here and now,
Then she was never here at all.

About Mhairi Simpson

Writer, dreamer. Magic, dragons, pink mice, cake. Come say hi!
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Went for a walk by the sea

  1. Ruth Fanshaw says:

    A wonderful poem. Very moving. Thank you for sharing it with us.

Leave a Reply

