Letting go of the past in order to move forward

I haven’t been very productive lately. In truth, 2011 has been a bit up and down so far. I’ve had back trouble, my grandmother passed away and my ex-boyfriend… well, we’ll just say that he didn’t help. It now looks like I’m going to lose my job because I won’t be going back any time soon. I was only a probationary employee so after three months I will lose the bulk of my sick pay and at some point they will cut it off altogether. Yesterday I had a bit of a meltdown through sheer frustration at three months of pain and no life. After that I got the latest email from my ex.

Today I feel a lot better. I’m not sure why, but I can make a guess. This blog’s byline is “Tempering the steel and never giving up.” I am going to name it Tempering the Steel because I finally realised that that is what this year is all about. Now, don’t get me wrong. 2009 and 2010 were not walks in the park. I decided on 31st December 2010 that 2011 was going to be my year. But success doesn’t come out of nothing and I am right at the beginning of my journey. I still have a lot of work to do.

I know how to write but I’m not necessarily at a publishable standard yet. Now is the time to hone my abilities. I need to write: books, short stories, novellas, in order to refine my craft and that is what I am going to do.

This time last year I had huge financial problems, massive family fights and a somewhat problematic relationship. Now all of those problems have been eliminated, leaving me free to continue with my writing journey unimpeded. Everything happens for a reason and I have to believe that all the crap of the past was just steps on the road towards my perfect future.

A friend of mine is studying criminology. She’s going to be a criminal profiler. She recently lost a lot of weight. Even more recently she dumped her boyfriend and hooked up with a replacement three days later. It occurs to me that this was possible because she is happy. She is on the right road towards her perfect future. She is happy that she is undergoing the correct process, that she is doing what is necessary in order to get to where she wants to be.

This is what I want to do. Yes, there are things about my life at the moment that I am not enjoying, but actually I am right where I need to be. Being where you need to be, however, is not the same as doing what you need to do. I am in the right place to do what is necessary, i.e. write and write and write, so I am just going to have to do that.

Now, on a different note, albeit the same general subject, I need a slimming buddy. I need to drop about 35lbs (that’s two and a half stone to English people) and I would like someone to be accountable to while I do it. Any takers?

About Mhairi Simpson

Writer, dreamer. Magic, dragons, pink mice, cake. Come say hi!
This entry was posted in About Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Letting go of the past in order to move forward

  1. Akoss says:

    I may be interested in being a taker but, I must ask, what would you use to track your weight loss process?

  2. Akoss says:

    ok.
    I will be using http://sparkpeople.com to post my progress.
    I did it before but quit and gained all my lost 10 pounds back.
    Shame…

  3. Ruth Fanshaw says:

    Yeah, 2010 was the year from hell for me, too. I love your positive attitude! 2011 CAN be a great year if we make the most of it! The future may never actually be ‘perfect’ in the literal sense – but it can be good, happy, fulfilling and worthwhile. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I really hope your health improves, and that you find a job that works for you until you can make your living from writing. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. alberta ross says:

    I would offer as I need to loose at least another 2stone but as it has taken me a year to lose the same amount I’m not sure I will be of any encouragement. Mind as you can see I started huge – so exercise wasn’t that easy – huge because of illness, accident and inabilty to move much (my excuse!) can at least do some exercise so maybe next two stone may come of in six months instead of twelve!!! then the third two stone and so on!!!!

    Listen all the best with this year and your weight loss – you can do it tempered as you are in steel – and we will all listen if it all gets too much sometimes. I’m good at saying yay you can do it to other people

    • I am happy to be your buddy with your weight loss. Time isn’t the issue, only the end results ๐Ÿ™‚ Besides, with my history of lack of self-discipline, it may well take me six months or more to lose the weight. Thanks for the encouragement ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. I do believe that everything happens for a reason and you could possibly be right that these are steps of a process to take you down the path toward your future. Just try to keep a positive outlook in your life. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I am so sorry about everything that you’ve been going through, Anne-Mhairi, but I’m glad that you wrote about it. It gives your readers a chance to let you know that we support you!

    I hope your back troubles ease up sometime soon. I don’t know if this would help, but I’m a tai chi teacher in my other, non-writing life. If you want to let me know where you’re experiencing back pain and how it started, I might be able to recommend some simple exercises for you. Feel free to email me.

    On the bad boyfriend front, I can also tell you that when I was 29 I left my first major relationship (which started when I was 19). That was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. Unlike your girlfriend I was single for five years. Best thing that ever happened to me. I know who I am because I took time to be by myself, and to learn who I really was. When I finally hit the dating pool again, I was ready to take my time and hold out for someone who deserved me! It worked out well.

    Sometime relationships require a substantial palate cleanser before you’re ready for the next one.

Leave a Reply

